Chocolate Orange Cookies

Where did January go?

Can we just address this for a moment? Somehow in less than a blink of an eye an entire month seems to have passed by and I for one am not sure that I am OK with that!

 

coc

This time of year is not particularly pleasant for us uni students as scary words like dissertation, deadlines, exams and graduation start to be thrown around. Apparently in the not too distant future I have to start to pretend to be an adult and start a proper job which is more than a little intimidating.

How do I cope with that strange and rapidly approaching prospect?

Bake.

Bake.

Eat.

20170101_173325

These cookies are a firm favourite. As I mentioned in my Spiced Oat Bake post I love chocolate orange! There are very few combinations that, in my book, can beat this classic and these cookies really do it justice.

Plus dark chocolate is good for the brain (trust me I’m a psychologist) so these are the perfect revision snack right? 😉

20161231_172511

Ingredients

  • 175g butter
  • 85g golden caster sugar
  • 1/2tsp vanilla extract
  • 240g plain flour
  • 150g chopped chocolate (I used a mix of dark and milk chocolate mainly because that’s what was in the cupboard but whatever you prefer will work!)
  • zest of half an orange
  • 1 tsp of orange extract (or the 1 tbsp of orange juice) – I used the Nielsen-Massey one which you can get hold of in Sainsburys or Lakeland do an alternative brand if you are in the UK

20161231_171742

Method

  1. Mix together the butter, sugar and vanilla extract.
  2. Stir in the flour and then the chocolate and the orange zest and extract until the dough comes together. (You may need to help it out with your hands here)
  3. Place two pieces of clingfilm onto the worktop. Separate the dough in half and put one half onto each of the pieces of clingfilm. Form each half of the dough into a log shape. Wrap with the clingfilm and chill for at least 2 hours (or overnight).
  4. Preheat your oven to 180°C.
  5. Remove from the fridge, leave on the worktop for about 5 minutes and then unwrap and slice into 1 cm round. 
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

 

20170101_173201

Let me know what you think and if you enjoyed these check out my Toffee Nut Latte Shortbreads!

Leave a comment